Keynote Speaker I

Prof. Tan Kiang Hwee
National University of Singapore, Singapore


Professor TAN KIANG HWEE is a faculty member of the Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering at the National University of Singapore (NUS) since July 1981. He obtained his doctorate degree from the University of Tokyo, Japan in 1985. He specialises in the area of structural concrete and composites and has carried out extensive research on external prestressing, fibre-reinforced polymer (FRP) reinforcement, fibre-reinforced concrete, and sustainable concrete and construction. Professor Tan is a Fellow of the Institution of Engineers, Singapore (IES), Japan Concrete Institute (JCI) and Japan Society of Civil Engineers (JSCE). He is a member of editorial boards for more than ten international journals, including ASCE Journal of Materials in Civil Engineering, ASCE Journal of Composites for Construction, Cement and Concrete Composites, JCI Journal of Advanced Concrete Technology, and others. He is a registered professional engineer and has also been a consultant in structural engineering to several agencies in Singapore.

Keynote Speaker II

Prof. C. W. Lim
City University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong


Prof IR Lim is currently a registered professional engineer (RPE). He received a first degree from Universiti Teknologi Malaysia, a Master's Degree and PhD from National University of Singapore and Nanyang Technological University, respectively. Prior to joining CityU, he was a post-doctoral research fellow at Department of Civil Engineering, The University of Queensland and Department of Mechanical Engineering, The University of Hong Kong. Prof. Lim is also a visiting professor at various universities including the University of Western Sydney, Dalian University of Technology, etc. He has expertise in vibration of plate and shell structures, dynamics of smart piezoelectric structures, nanomechanics and symplectic elasticity. He is the Editor for Journal of Mechanics of Materials and Structures (JoMMS), Associate Editor (Asia-Pacific Region) for Journal of Vibration Engineering & Technologies (JVET), Associate Editor for International Journal of Bifurcation and Chaos (IJBC), International Subject Editor for Applied Mathematical Modelling (AMM), and also on the editorial board of some other international journals. He has published among one of the well-selling titles in Engineering Mechanics entitled "Symplectic Elasticity", co-authored with W.A. Yao and W.X. Zhong, as recorded in April 2010 by the publisher, World Scientific. He has published more than 300 international journal papers, accumulated more than 3000 independent citations, and one of the papers was granted the IJSS 2004-2008 most cited article award. He was also awarded Top Referees in 2009, Proceedings A, The Royal Society.

Keynote Speaker III

Prof. Kyoung Sun Moon
Yale University, USA


Kyoung Sun Moon is Associate Professor at Yale University School of Architecture. He received a B.S. from Seoul National University and an M.Arch. and an M.S.C.E. from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, and a Ph.D. from Massachusetts Institute of Technology. Prior to joining the Yale faculty, Dr. Moon taught at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign and worked at Skidmore, Owings, and Merrill in Chicago and the Republic of Korea Navy. Educated as both an architect and engineer, Dr. Moon’s primary research area is the integration between the art and science/technology of architecture, with a focus on tall and other structurally challenging buildings. His articles on this area have appeared in many scholarly journals including The Structural Design of Tall and Special Buildings, Engineering Structures, Journal of Architectural Engineering, Architectural Science Review, Journal of Urban Technology, and International Journal of Sustainable Building Technology and Urban Development to name a few. He is also the author of the book “Cantilever Architecture.” Dr. Moon is a licensed architect in the U.S., and a member of the American Institute of Architects, American Society of Civil Engineers Committee on Tall Buildings, and Council on Tall Buildings and Urban Habitat Expert Peer Review Committee. He is an editor in chief of the International Journal of High-Rise Buildings and an editorial board member of other research journals.

Invited Speaker

Assoc. Prof Galina Gorbacheva
Bauman Moscow State Technical University, Russia


Dr. Galina Gorbacheva is Associate Professor of Department of Wood Science and Technology, Mytishchi Branch, Bauman Moscow State Technical University. She received her PhD thesis Wood physics from the Moscow State Forest University (MSFU) in 2004. Her research work is devoted to the characterization of structure and properties of wood as a natural functional material for the creation of new nano-, bio - and composite materials. Author or co-author of more than 120 scientific publications, over 50 conference presentations in the areas of wood science, wood physics, memory effect of wood. Dr. Gorbacheva is Fellow of International Academy of Wood Science (IAWS), Scientific Secretary of Regional Coordinating Council on Wood Science (RCCWS, functioning under IAWS, includes 15 countries), Leading researcher in projects funded by the Ministry of Science and High Education of the Russian Federation, Member of Technical Committee 144 «Building materials and constructions» at Federal Agency on Technical Regulating and Metrology of Russian Federation, expert of The Grabar Art Conservation Centre. She has been a consultant for the Federal Customs Service of Russia, the Federal and regional bodies of state of the Russian Federation, the objects of cultural and historical heritage.

ICMEP 2020 Speakers are as below: 

Prof. Ramesh K. Agarwal
Washington University in St. Louis, USA
Prof. Dorrik Stow Frse
Heriot-Watt University, UK
(Fellow of RSE, NERC )
Prof. Mário S. Ming Kong
University Lisbon, Portugal